Yana Gevorgyan

Yana Gevorgyan joined GEO as Secretariat Director in July 2021. Ms. Gevorgyan is an international relations expert whose career spans humanitarian relief and development, international think tanks, and government organizations. Formerly, GEO Program Manager at the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s (NOAA), Ms. Gevorgyan managed the participation of the United States government in GEO and provided thought leadership to shape forward-looking strategies and policies that enable multisectoral partnerships, broad stakeholder engagement and the deserved recognition of GEO’s most valuable asset – its community.

Ms. Gevorgyan is an experienced cross-cultural communicator known for building bridges between diverse communities on a global and regional scale. Her vision for the advancement of GEO is to introduce agile and innovative approaches to promote broader use of Earth observation data, technologies and knowledge for social impact. Accelerating engagement with GEO members at the national level, strategic communication for policy, economic and human impact, and collaboration across sectors and stakeholders will be key vectors in Yana’s strategy to shape the work of the GEO Secretariat and the GEO community.

Ms. Gevorgyan was born and raised in Armenia, where she studied foreign languages and became involved in international development and working with underprivileged communities as a young adult. She credits this time of her life with developing a keen understanding of the power of human interaction; of authenticity, empathy and trust as the basis for enduring relationships; of the importance of commitment to a cause and the long road to get there. “Any outcome worth achieving takes commitment and perseverance. I’m at GEO with my GEO family, for the long haul – to see communities benefit from the enormous public and private investments made into science and technology.”

Patricia Geddes

Patricia Geddes

Senior Administrative Manager

email icon  pgeddes@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8371

Steven Ramage

Steven Ramage

Chief Engagement Officer

email icon  sramage@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8139

View biography here

Douglas Cripe

Douglas Cripe

Senior Scientific Adviser

email icon  dcripe@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8368

Hendrik Baeyens

Hendrik Baeyens

Project Officer / IT Manager

email icon  hbaeyens@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8361

Rui Kotani

Rui Kotani

Disaster Risk Reduction Coordinator (secondment from Japan)

email icon  rkotani@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +81 3 6734 4181

Laurent Durieux

Laurent Durieux

Coordinator of the Sustainable Development Goals Engagement (secondment from France)

email icon  ldurieux@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  

Craig Larlee

Craig Larlee

Work Programme Coordinator / Support to the Programme Board / Monitoring and Evaluation

email icon  clarlee@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8382

Wenbo Chu

Wenbo Chu

Work Programme Officer

email icon  wchu@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8380

Paola De Salvo

Paola De Salvo

Information Technology Officer

email icon  pdesalvo@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8471

Ian Jarvis

Ian Jarvis

Agriculture and GEOGLAM (Supported by the German Federal Ministry for Food and Agriculture)

email icon  ijarvis@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8751

Sara Venturini

Sara Venturini

Climate Coordinator

email icon  sventurini@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 (0)22 730 8549

Florian Franziskakis

Florian Franziskakis

In-Situ Data Management Associate

email icon  ffranziskakis@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8429

Joost Teuben

Joost Teuben

Capacity Building Coordinator (Virtual secondment from the Netherlands)

email icon  jteuben@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +31 53 4897593

Chloé Tiberghien

Chloé Tiberghien

Secretary

email icon  ctiberghien@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8468

Sachiko Matsuura

Sachiko Matsuura

Secretary

email icon  smatsuura@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8244