Gilberto Camara

Prof. Dr. Gilberto Camara joined GEO as Secretariat Director in July 2018. He is well-known in the GEO community as a leading researcher in Geoinformatics, Geographical Information Science, and Land Use Change, and he has been recognised internationally for promoting free access and open source software for Earth observation data.

Under his guidance, as Director for Earth observation (2001-2005) and Director General (2006-2012), Brazil's National Institute for Space Research (INPE) made significant advances in land change monitoring using remote sensing, which contributed to Brazil achieving 80% decrease in deforestation in the Amazon rainforest, supporting Brazil’s commitment made at the UNFCCC COP15. This achievement was hailed as “the biggest environmental success story in a decade” by the scientific journal Nature. In support of Brazil's pledge to the 2015 Paris Agreement, Gilberto lead a team that projected Brazil’s future emissions from land use and agriculture.

Gilberto has advised 25 PhD dissertations and 31 Master thesis and published more than 250 scholarly papers that have been cited more than 10000 times (Google Scholar, June 2018). He was a member of the Scientific Steering Committee of Global Land Project from 2006 to 2011. From June 2013 to May 2015, he was the Brazil Chair at the University of Münster (Germany). From December 2016 to June 2018, he served as be one of the two co-chairs of the Belmont Forum, an international group of funding agencies for global change research.

As recognition for his work, he was inducted as a Doctor honoris causa from the University of Münster (Germany) and as a Chevalier (Knight) of the Ordre National du Mérite of France. He received the Global Citizen Award of the Global Spatial Data Infrastructure Association. He is also a Fellow of the Faculty of Geoinformation Science and Earth Observation (ITC) of the University of Twente (Netherlands) and a Senior Member of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). He is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of Creative Commons and received the William T. Pecora award from NASA and USGS for "leadership to the broad and open access to remote sensing data".

Gilberto has been involved in GEO since its early days, and lead the Brazilian delegations that helped initiate GEO and GEOSS.

Patricia Geddes

Patricia Geddes

Senior Administrative Manager

email icon  pgeddes@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8371

Steven Ramage

Steven Ramage

Head of External Relations

email icon  sramage@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8139

Douglas Cripe

Douglas Cripe

Senior Scientific Adviser

email icon  dcripe@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8368

Hendrik Baeyens

Hendrik Baeyens

Project Officer / IT Manager

email icon  hbaeyens@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8361

Theadora Mills

Theadora Mills

Communications Officer

email icon  tmills@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8594

Craig Larlee

Craig Larlee

Work Programme Coordinator / Support to the Programme Board / Monitoring and Evaluation

email icon  clarlee@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8382

Wenbo Chu

Wenbo Chu

Work Programme Officer

email icon  wchu@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8380

Paola De Salvo

Paola De Salvo

Information Technology Officer

email icon  pdesalvo@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8471

Ian Jarvis

Ian Jarvis

Agriculture and GEOGLAM (Supported by the German Federal Ministry for Food and Agriculture)

email icon  ijarvis@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8751

Sara Venturini

Sara Venturini

Climate Coordinator

email icon  sventurini@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 (0)22 730 8549

Florian Franziskakis

Florian Franziskakis

In-Situ Data Management Associate

email icon  ffranziskakis@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8429

Akiko Noda

Akiko Noda

Disasters and GFOI (Virtual secondment from Japan)

email icon  anoda@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  -

James Norris

James Norris

Disaster Resilience (Virtual secondment from UK)

email icon  jnorris@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +44 (0)23 8005 5906

Joost Teuben

Joost Teuben

Capacity Building Coordinator (Virtual secondment from the Netherlands)

email icon  jteuben@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  office: +31 53 4897593 Mobile: +31 6 11050890

Sofia Estrada

Sofia Estrada

Secretary to the Director

email icon  sestrada@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8401

Chloé Tiberghien

Chloé Tiberghien

Secretary

email icon  ctiberghien@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8468

Sachiko Matsuura

Sachiko Matsuura

Secretary

email icon  smatsuura@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 22 730 8244

Derya Senol

Derya Senol

Communications Intern

email icon  dsenol@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 (0)22 730 8091

Luka Dacic

Luka Dacic

External Relations Intern

email icon  ldacic@geosec.org

Telephone number icon  +41 (0)22 730 8535