GEO logo
GEO logo
 
GEO circles
Menu

Capacity Building

 

Introduction

Building capacity, as well as sustaining and enhancing existing capacity, is essential for developing the competencies of GEO Members and Participating Organizations in the effective use of Earth observations for responding to societal challenges and addressing sustainable development issues.

The capacity building activities in GEO aims to assist developed and developing countries and regions in increasing their technical and human capacity to acquire, share, store, maintain and fully utilize Earth observation data and information in the decision-making process; demonstrate solutions, disseminate best practices showcasing the value of Earth observations and promote the engagement of institutional users worldwide.

Strengthen cooperation at regional and national level by identifying country-specific opportunities to develop Earth observation plans, Spatial Data Infrastructures, as necessary, and establishing national GEO structures

Coordination of capacity building in GEO is undertaken by the Capacity Building Coordination Task Team.

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Mark Noort

Netherlands

HCP International

m.noort@hcpinternational.com

Co-Chair

Nancy Searby

United States

NASA

nancy.d.searby@nasa.gov

Co-Chair

Freek Van Der Meer

ITC

ITC

f.d.vandermeer@utwente.nl

Contributor

Hilcéa Ferreira

Brazil

INPE

hilcea.ferreira@inpe.br

Contributor

Lucia Lovison-Golob

Chile

n/a

lucia.lovison@afriterra.org

Contributor

Jean-Christophe Desconnets

France

IRD

jean-christophe.desconnets@ird.fr

Contributor

Yaniss Guigoz

Switzerland

n/a

yaniss.guigoz@unepgrid.ch

Contributor

Angelica Gutierrez-Magness

United States

NOAA

angelica.gutierrez@noaa.gov

Contributor

Eric Wood

United States

USGS

woodec@usgs.gov

Contributor

Simon Hodson

CODATA

CODATA

simon@codata.org

Contributor

Sophie Seeyave

POGO

POGO

ssve@pml.ac.uk

Contributor

Luca Delloro

UNITAR

UNITAR

luca.delloro@unitar.org

Contributor

Joerg Szarzynski

UNU-EHS

UN University

szarzynski@ehs.unu.edu

Contributor

Rohini Swaminathan

WHO

WHO

rohini.s.swaminathan@gmail.com

GEO Sec Rep

Andiswa Mlisa

GEO Secretariat

GEO

amlisa@geosec.org

GEO Secretariat contact for Capacity Building

Andiswa Mlisa, Scientific & Technical Officer

amlisa@geosec.org, +44 22 730 8239

Events

Upcoming events

2017



Courses in professional practice and thematic cartography: GISc professional practice; Thematic cartography; GIS 707, Special topics: Thematic Cartography
University of Pretoria, South Africa
 
 


3rd Stellenbosch University SAR Symposium
Stellenbosch University, Stellenbosch, South Africa
 
 


 

Past events

2017



Ocean-colour data in climate studies advanced training short course
Plymouth Marine Laboratory, Prospect Place, The Hoe, PL1 3DH, Plymouth, UK
Training websiteRegister here (Deadline for applications is 24 June 2017)
 
 


GRSS Summer School and Young Professional event
Arlington, TX, USA
 
 


RDA EU-ENVRI Summer School on Data Management and Data Science
Helsink / Espoo, Finland
 
 


GOFC-GOLD and World Bank FCPF: REDD+MRV webinar series
Online webinars
 
 


GEOCab Portal

The Capacity Building Resources can be accessed through the GEOCAB Portal:

 

Additional Resources

The Capacity Building Resources can be accessed through the GEOCAB Portal:

 

Data Catalogs and Portals

Training Courses and Tutorials

Training Material

Open Source Software

2017-2019 Work Programme - Capacity building related activities.

GEO Flagships

GEO Initiatives

Community Activities

Foundational Task: GEOSS Development and GCI Operations

Activity Sub Groups

 

Contact

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520