GEO logo
 
         GEOSS Portal Button
 

Building capacity, as well as sustaining and enhancing existing capacity, is essential for developing the competencies of GEO Members and Participating Organizations in the effective use of Earth observations for responding to societal challenges and addressing sustainable development issues.

The capacity building activities in GEO aims to assist developed and developing countries and regions in increasing their technical and human capacity to acquire, share, store, maintain and fully utilize Earth observation data and information in the decision-making process; demonstrate solutions, disseminate best practices showcasing the value of Earth observations and promote the engagement of institutional users worldwide.

Strengthen cooperation at regional and national level by identifying country-specific opportunities to develop Earth observation plans, Spatial Data Infrastructures, as necessary, and establishing national GEO structures

Coordination of capacity building in GEO is undertaken by the Capacity Building Coordination Task Team.

Resources

The Capacity Building Resources can be accessed through the GEOCAB Portal:

 

Data Catalogs and Portals

Training Courses and Tutorials

Training Material

Open Source Software

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Contributor

Hilcéa Ferreira

Brazil

INPE

hilcea.ferreira@inpe.br

Contributor

Lucia Lovison-Golob

Chile

n/a

lucia.lovison@gmail.com

Contributor

Jean-Christophe Desconnets

France

IRD

jean-christophe.desconnets@ird.fr

Contributor

Andiswa Mlisa

South Africa

SANSA

amlisa@sansa.org.za

Contributor

Rohini Swaminathan

South Africa

n/a

rohini.s.swaminathan@gmail.com

Contributor

Yaniss Guigoz

Switzerland

n/a

yaniss.guigoz@unepgrid.ch

Contributor

Angelica Gutierrez

United States

NOAA

angelica.gutierrez@noaa.gov

Contributor

Nancy Searby

United States

NASA

nancy.d.searby@nasa.gov

Contributor

Eric Wood

United States

USGS

woodec@usgs.gov

Contributor

Simon Hodson

CODATA

CODATA

simon@codata.org

Contributor

Freek Van Der Meer

ITC

ITC

f.d.vandermeer@utwente.nl

Contributor

Sophie Seeyave

POGO

POGO

ssve@pml.ac.uk

Contributor

Luca Delloro

UNITAR

UNITAR

luca.delloro@unitar.org

Contributor

Joerg Szarzynski

UNU-EHS

UN University

szarzynski@ehs.unu.edu

GEO Sec Rep

Joost Teuben

GEO Secretariat

GEO

jteuben@geosec.org

GEO Secretariat contact for Capacity Building

Joost Teuben, Capacity Building Coordinator

jteuben@geosec.org, Office: +31 53 4897593 Mobile: +31 6 11050890