GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

GEO 2016 transitional Work Program

 

GCI Development

Activity ID: 61
  1. General description

Describe and update the GCI evolution strategy and architecture based on documented and emerging user requirements, the analysis of the evolving landscape for technology and production/ consumption of Earth Observation (EO) data products and services. Conduct research and development activities, in collaboration with public, private, and voluntary sectors, to develop and test new functionalities, solutions, and components needed to support the GEO Strategic Plan objectives and user needs. Prepare documentation and training materials needed to support the transition from development to operations of identified new components and solutions.

  1. Implementation approach and respective responsibilities

This task will be implemented by the GEOSS Development Working Group (GDWG) in collaboration with GD02 (GCI Operations including access to Knowledge) task, and will include major contributors. The GEO Secretariat will support the GDWG and ensure that its activities are fully supportive of the GCI.

  1. Contributors (JRC, USGS, CNR, ESA, OGC, IEEE, NOAA)
  2. Develop a GEOSS Architecture based on documented and emerging user requirements informed by the GD08 (SBA process), GD09 (Knowledge Base Development), Flagships, Initiatives,Community Activities, and analysis of the evolving landscape for technology and production/consumption of EO data products and services
  3. Develop and test new GCI functionalities, solutions, and components
  4. Collect and analyze the survey results supporting theData Management Guidelines and develop a process to implement the Guidelines for providers
  5. Implement subsequent Demonstration  Pilot Projects this year in 2016 to test solutions and to promote the use of GEOSS data in developing products and services. Demonstration Pilots will 1) discover assets that respond to a flagships EO data needs, 2) efficiently access and harvest the responsive assets and 3) operationally integrate those resources into a short-term or long-term GEOSS product or service for societal use.  (ex. GEOGLAM Crop)
  6. Promote the advancement of GEOSS interoperability through the Standards and Interoperability Forum (SIF)
  7. Engage the GEOSS community through guidelines and tutorials that explains the utilization of the GEOSS and the GCI.
  8. Continue to develop the Community Portal Recommendations paper that provides best practices, examples and lessons-learned to promote and facilitate communities’ use of the GCI and assist them in contributing their capabilities to GEOSS.

 

  1. GEO Secretariat
  2. Overarching coordination and support
  3. GCI Requirements consolidation and update

3. Planned activities and outputs for 2016

      1. Draft document of GEOSS Architecture
      2. Consolidate/update a document “Evolution of GCI functionalities and architecture” including following topics:
        1. A report on “GCI Operations options” for 2016
        2. Plenary decision and implementation starting from 2017
      3. Interact with GD08 (SBA process) and GD09 (Knowledge base) to collect requirements for designing the new functionalities
      4. Implement new functionalities in 2016 to improve the accessibility and usability of GCI resources.
      5. Report results on Demonstration pilot Projects
      6. Approved Data Management Guidelines at GEO-XIII and draft a process of implementation with Flagships, Initiatives and Community Activities with training and workshops.
      7. Organize a GEOSS Interoperability Workshop in 2016 and conduct virtually (arranged and managed by the SIF)
      8. Publish new guidelines and tutorials in the Best Practices Wiki (The process is managed by the SIF.)
      9. Deliver an updated version of the Community Portal Paper with specific recommendation based on interactions between community components and the GCI.
  1. Task Team (preliminary)

 

Lead

US/ USGS

Ivan DeLoatch

Ideloatch@usgs.gov

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

US/ USGS

Rich Frazier

efrazier@usgs.gov

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

EC/ JRC

Alessandro Annoni

alessandro.annoni@jrc.ec.europa.eu

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

EC/ JRC

Massimo Craglia

massimo.craglia@jrc.ec.europa.eu

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

ESA

Mirko Albani

mirko.albani@esa.int

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

ESA

Joost Van Bemmelen

Joost.van.Bemmelen@esa.int

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

ESA

Guido
Colangeli

g.colangeli@rheagroup.com

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

IEEE

Steven Browdy

steveb@omstech.com

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture
SIF, Guidance and Tutorial Documents

Contributor

Italy/CNR

Stefano Nativi

stefano.nativi@cnr.it

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

US/USGS

Liping Di

ldi@gmu.edu

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

US/NOAA

Ken McDonald

kenneth.mcdonald@noaa.gov

Community Portal

Contributor

OGC

Bart de Lathouwer

bdelathouwer@opengeospatial.org

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture

Contributor

Former DMTF

TBD

 

DMP IG

GEO Secretariat

 

Paola De Salvo

Pdesalvo@geosec.org

Evolution GEOSS and GCI Architecture, AIP, SIF, Community Portal

GEO Secretariat

 

Osamu Ochiai

Oochiai@geosec.org

Overall Task Management

GEO Secretariat

 

Chao Xing

cxing@geosec.org

DMP IG

GEO Secretariat

 

Wenbo Chu

Wchu@geosec.org

DMP IG

Leadership & Contributors (this list is being populated)

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Member

Tony Boston

Australia

n/a

T.Boston@bom.gov.au

Member

Tom Kralidis

Canada

Meteorological Service

tom.kralidis@ec.gc.ca

Member

Alvaro Monett H.

Chile

n/a

amoneth@mbienes.cl

Member

Yuqi Bai

China

Tsinghua University

yuqibai@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn

Member

Guoqing Li

China

RADI-CAS

gqli@ceode.ac.cn

Member

Jitao Yang

China

RADI-CAS

jitao.yang@gmail.com

Member

Hannu Saarenmaa

Finland

n/a

hannu.saarenmaa@uef.fi

Member

Lionel Menard

France

MINES ParisTech

lionel.menard@ensmp.fr

Member

Ryosuke Shibasaki

Japan

n/a

shiba@csis.u-tokyo.ac.jp

Member

Arne Berre

Norway

n/a

arre.j.berre@sintef.no

Member

Bente Bye

Norway

n/a

bentelil@hotmail.com

Member

Mateusz Hordejuk

Poland

PGI

mhor@pgi.gov.pl

Member

Hugo Wim

South Africa

n/a

wim@saeon.ac.za

Member

Enrique Alonso

Spain

n/a

Enrique.Alonso@consejo-estado.es

Member

Antonio Garcia Camacho

Spain

CSIC

antonio.garcia.camacho@csic.es

Member

Joan Masó-Pau

Spain

CREAF

joan.maso@uab.cat

Member

Garry Baker

United Kingdom

n/a

grba@bgs.ac.uk

Member

Jeff de La Beaujardiere

United States

NOAA

jeff.delabeaujardiere@noaa.gov

Member

Liping Di

United States

GMU

ldi@gmu.edu

Member

Anthony Michelle

United States

USGS

michelle.anthony.ctr@usgs.gov

Member

William Sonntag

United States

EPA

wsonntag@geosec.org

Member

Martin Yapur

United States

NOAA

martin.yapur@noaa.gov

Member

Brian Killough

CEOS

n/a

brian.d.killough@nasa.gov

Member

Andy Mitchell

CEOS

n/a

andrew.e.mitchell@nasa.gov

Member

Richard Moreno

CEOS

n/a

richard.moreno@cnes.fr

Member

Simon Hodson

CODATA

n/a

simon@codata.org

Member

Florian Haslinger

EPOS

n/a

haslinger@sed.ethz.ch

Member

Mirko Albani

ESA

n/a

mirko.albani@esa.int

Member

Guido Colangeli

ESA

n/a

g.colangeli@rheagroup.com

Member

Joost Van Bemmelen

ESA

n/a

joost.van.bemmelen@esa.int

Member

Justin Goldstein

ESIP

n/a

justin.goldstein@noaa.gov

Member

Erin Robinson

ESIP

n/a

erinrobinson@esipfed.org

Member

Steven Browdy

IEEE

n/a

steveb@omstech.com

Member

Siri-Jodha Khalsa

IEEE

n/a

sjsk@nsidc.org

Member

Bart De Lathouwer

OGC

n/a

bdelathouwer@opengeospatial.org

Member

Lucia Lovison-Golob

OGC

n/a

lucia.lovison@afriterra.org

Member

Mustapha Mokrane

WDS

n/a

mustapha.mokrane@icsu-wds.org

Member

Markus Heene

WMO

DWD

markus.heene@dwd.de

Lead

Alessandro Annoni

European Commission

n/a

alessandro.annoni@ec.europa.eu

Lead

Massimo Craglia

European Commission

n/a

massimo.craglia@ec.europa.eu

Lead

Ivan Deloatch

United States

n/a

ideloatch@usgs.gov

GEO Sec Rep

Wenbo Chu

GEO Secretariat

n/a

wchu@geosec.org

GEO Sec Rep

Paola De Salvo

GEO Secretariat

n/a

pdesalvo@geosec.org

GEO Sec Rep

Gary Geller

GEO Secretariat

n/a

ggeller@geosec.org

GEO Sec Rep

Osamu Ochiai

GEO Secretariat

n/a

oochiai@geosec.org

 

Contact

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520