GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

Advancing GEOSS Data Sharing principles

 
Activity ID: 55

General Description

Continue promoting free, full, open and timely access to Earth Observation datasets, products and services. Maintain dialogues with Governments and support the up-take and implementation of the GEOSS Data Sharing principles by GEO Members and Participating Organizations.  Raise awareness of the technical, organizational, and resource implications of implementing the GEOSS Data Sharing Principles.

Implementation approach, respectively responsibilities

The activities will be performed by a dedicated Working Group, supported by the GEO Secretariat.

Task leads (May change according to ToR of the Working Group.)

David Halpern

COSPAR

COSPAR

david.halpern@jpl.nasa.gov

Catherine Doldirina

EC

EC-JRC

catherine.doldirina@jrc.ec.europa.eu

Michel Schouppe

EC

EC

michel.schouppe@ec.europa.eu

Robert Chen

ICSU

CODATA

bchen@ciesin.columbia.edu

Paul Uhlir

ICSU

CODATA

puhlir@nas.edu

Lerato Senoko

RSA

DST-ZA

lerato.senoko@dst.gov.za

Greg Withee

US

USGS

gwithee@msn.com

Contributors

Baden Appleyard

Australia

AusGOAL

b.appleyard@ausgoal.gov.au

Guoqing Li

China

RADI/CAS

ligq@radi.ac.cn

Ying Su

China

ISTIC

suy.rspc@istic.ac.cn

Chuang Liu

China

IGSNRR/CAS

lchuang@igsnrr.ac.cn

Kerry Sawyer

CEOS

CEOS

kerry.sawyer@noaa.gov

Jean-Louis Fellous

COSPAR

COSPAR

jean-louis.fellous@cosparhq.cnes.fr

Puneet Kishor

CC

CC

punkish@creativecommons.org

Jose Miguel Rubio Iglesias

EC

EC

jose-miguel.rubio-iglesias@ec.europa.eu

Simon Hodson

ICSU

CODATA

execdir@codata.org

Nico Bonora

Italy

ISPRA

nico.bonora@isprambiente.it

Francois Robida

IUGS

BRGM

f.robida@brgm.fr

Masatoshi Kamei

Japan

RESTEC

kamei@restec.or.jp

Daisuke Saisho

Japan

JAXA

saisho.daisuke@jaxa.jp

Ambinintsoa Noasilalaonomenjanahary

Madagascar

MEEFT

noasilalao@meeft.gov.mg

Frank Lantsheer

Netherlands

KNMI

frank.lantsheer@knmi.nl

Ganiyu Agbaje

Nigeria

NASRDA

gagbaje@yahoo.co.uk, ganiyu.agbaje@nasrda.gov.ng

Miles Gabriel

United Kingdom

Gabriel Information Solutions Ltd

milesgabriel@geois.co.uk

Kevin Murphy

United States

NASA

kevin.j.murphy@nasa.gov

Michael Tanner

United States

NOAA

michael.tanner@noaa.gov

Sergio Albani

EU SatCen

EU SatCen

sergio.albani@satcen.europa.eu

Steven Browdy

IEEE

IEEE

steveb@omstech.com

Mariel Borowitz

ICSU

CODATA

mariel.borowitz@inta.gatech.edu

Daniel Quintart

EC

EC

daniel.quintart@ec.europa.eu

Responsibilities

a. Task Members

  1. Update implementation guidelines on Data Sharing Principles that underpin the quality of available data, information and tools and support their integrated use.
  2. Keep track of international Open Data trends and continue to evolve the next generation of Data Sharing Principles as necessary.
  3. Analyze and advocate the benefits of Data Sharing. Raise global awareness, including in developing countries, about the free and open datasets, products and services provided through GEOSS including support of measuring and monitoring of the SDGs.
  4. Promote national coordinating mechanisms for implementing the Data Sharing Principles Post-2015 and monitor data sharing progress by the GEO member governments.
  5. Analyze Data Commons in GEO SBAs that enable data sharing across various SBAs. Address legal interoperability of datasets across various SBAs, through recommended mechanisms to share data as part of GEOSS DataCORE or compatible open licenses.
  6. Monitor, interpret, and adjust the use metrics to gauge the utilization of shared resources and their value to both data providers and data users, within and across SBAs.

b. GEO Secretariat

  1. Support the coordination and the administration of this task
  2. Data sharing point of contact to the external world and helpdesk function, in coordination with the SIF, for Data Providers and Users
  3. Promotion and extension of GEOSS DataCORE
  4. Manage and operate a Use Metrics component of the GCI.

Planned activities and outputs for 2016

    • Hold at least one meeting of DSWG.
    • Update Implementation Guidelines on Data Sharing Principles for Plenary approval in 2016.
    • Produce a report on international Open Data trends.
    • Draft a summary of mechanisms for monitoring the status of GEO Members in establishing and implementing Open Data Policies.

    Leads/Contributors (this list is being populated)

    No data found...

 

Contact

Contact

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

 

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

 

Follow Us on