GEO logo
 
         GEOSS Portal Button
 

GEO 2017-2019 Work Programme

 

GEO Land Degradation Neutrality

Activity ID: 149

Reference documents

1st Steering Committee meeting, Kyoto, 2 November 2018

Overview

In order to halt and reverse the current trends in land degradation, there is an immediate need to enhance national capacities to undertake quantitative assessments and corresponding mapping of their degraded lands, as required by the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), in particular the SDG indicator 15.3.1 (“proportion of land that is degraded over total land area”), as well as by the adoption of Land Degradation Neutrality (LDN) targets under the auspices of the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD).

The Group on Earth Observations (GEO) is well-positioned to assist the UNCCD and its contracting parties with the rapid provision and deployment of EO datasets, country support, capacity building and training, along with Earth observation (EO) tools and platforms so that countries can effectively monitor and report on SDG indicator 15.3.1 every four years starting in 2018, as well as support longer term efforts to develop international standards and protocols on LDN and land degradation monitoring.

A GEO Community Activity (CA) on LDN will assist countries, regions and others interested in addressing land degradation with monitoring and reporting necessary to implement and achieve SDG 15, “Life on Land”. The data and reporting protocols developed would be accessible in the Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS) Platform and prove useful to other GEO Initiatives, including GEOBON, GEO GLAM and the Earth Observations for Ecosystem Accounting Initiative. The space-based and in-situ measurements provided to countries from this proposed CA are fundamentally linked to many other areas of the GEO 2017-2019 Work Programme (GWP), the GEO Strategic Plan 2016-2025: Implementing GEOSS and global priorities on sustainable development, climate action and disaster risk reduction. While this CA will be global in scope, participants and contributors may wish to leverage their regional strengths in alignment with regional GEOSS Initiatives, and in terms of expertise and financing.

Activities for the Period

  1. Building capacity at the country level and ensuring national ownership of EO data and information (including both space-based and in-situ measurements) will involve the preparation of curriculum and training sessions on the use of practical tools to support countries in accessing, interpreting and validating EO data (a) for UNCCD national reports, which in turn will inform reporting on SDG indicator 15.3.1 at the regional and global level (Strategic Objectives 1 and 2), and (b) for land use planning and spatial planning to implement measures to reach LDN objectives. The curriculum will also include reference to other target systems and reporting obligations at national level to maximize synergies and avoid duplication of efforts.
  2. Developing international standards and protocols will be advanced by the establishment of federated collaborative platforms with high computing capacities and big data analytics tools (e.g., EO data cubes) that would allow countries to easily select, access, process, analyze, interpret and quality control large datasets associated with EO and geospatial information, while at the same time ensuring national ownership. (Strategic Objective 3).
  3. Continue development of an Initiative Implementation Plan for Programme Board review and inclusion in the annual update of the GWP, to be approved by the GEO Plenary in October of 2018.

Resources

Resources for the CA development process and beyond will largely be in-kind. UNCCD has begun to convene workshops for UN Member Countries with resources provided by the UN Global Environment Fund.

Leadership

At this stage, the leadership of the CA consists of representatives of the two Secretariats for GEO and UNCCD respectively.

Working groups

WG 1 Capacity Building

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Amos Kabo-Bah

Ghana

n/a

amos.kabobah@uenr.edu.gh

Member

Ermias Betemariam

Ethiopia

n/a

e.betemariam@cgiar.org

Member

Mariasilvia Giamberini

Italy

CNR

giamberini@igg.cnr.it

Member

Andiswa Mlisa

South Africa

SANSA

amlisa@sansa.org.za

Member

Nancy Searby

United States

NASA

nancy.d.searby@nasa.gov

Member

Issifou Alfari

AGRHYMET

n/a

issifoualfari14@gmail.com

Member

Patrice Sanou

ISESTEL

n/a

patrice.sanou@sigeta-isestel.com

GEO Sec Rep

Joost Teuben

GEO Secretariat

GEO

jteuben@geosec.org

WG 2 Data Quality Standards

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Antje Hecheltjen

Germany

GiZ

antje.hecheltjen@giz.de

Lead

Fabian Loew

Germany

n/a

fabian.loew@bbk.bund.de

Lead

Barron Orr

UNCCD

n/a

bjorr@unccd.int

Member

Alex Held

Australia

CSIRO

alex.held@csiro.au

Member

Adam Lewis

Australia

GA

adam.lewis@ga.gov.au

Member

Stuart Minchin

Australia

GA

stuart.minchin@ga.gov.au

Member

Vincent Pircher

France

n/a

vincent.pircher@developpement-durable.gouv.fr

Member

Martin Bachmann

Germany

DLR

Member

Uta Heiden

Germany

DLR

uta.heiden@dlr.de

Member

Martin Herold

Netherlands

WUR

martin.herold@wur.nl

Member

Joan Masó-Pau

Spain

CREAF

joan.maso@uab.cat

Member

Andrew Kruczkiewicz

United States

IRI

andrewk@iri.columbia.edu

Member

Gregory Scott

United States

n/a

scott12@un.org

Member

William Sonntag

United States

n/a

wsonntag@mit.edu

Member

Brian Killough

CEOS

NASA

brian.d.killough@nasa.gov

Member

Marc Paganini

ESA

ESA

marc.paganini@esa.int

Member

Thomas Hammond

FAO

n/a

thomas.hammond@fao.org

Member

Steffen Fritz

IIASA

IIASA

fritz@iiasa.ac.at

Member

Ivan Hascic

OECD

n/a

ivan.hascic@oecd.org

GEO Sec Rep

Douglas Cripe

GEO Secretariat

GEO

dcripe@geosec.org

WG 3 Data Analytics

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Neil Sims

Australia

CSIRO

neil.sims@csiro.au

Lead

Alex Zvoleff

CI

CI

azvoleff@conservation.org

Member

Norman Mueller

Australia

GA

norman.mueller@ga.gov.au

Member

Ermias Betemariam

Ethiopia

n/a

e.betemariam@cgiar.org

Member

Petteri Vihervaara

Finland

n/a

petteri.vihervaara@ymparisto.fi

Contributor

Ursula Gessner

Germany

DLR

ursula.gessner@dlr.de

Contributor

Palma Blonda

Italy

CNR-IIA

palma.blonda@iia.cnr.it

Member

Carmela Marangi

Italy

CNR

c.marangi@ba.iac.cnr.it

Contributor

Amadou Dieye

Senegal

n/a

dieye@cse.sn

Member

Andiswa Mlisa

South Africa

SANSA

amlisa@sansa.org.za

Member

Richard Lucas

United Kingdom

n/a

rml2@aber.ac.uk

Member

Argie Kavvada

United States

NASA

argyro.kavvada@nasa.gov

Member

William Sonntag

United States

n/a

wsonntag@mit.edu

Member

Brian Killough

CEOS

NASA

brian.d.killough@nasa.gov

Member

Mariano Gonzalez-Roglich

CI

n/a

mgonzalez-roglich@conservation.org

Member

Marc Paganini

ESA

ESA

marc.paganini@esa.int

GEO Sec Rep

Douglas Cripe

GEO Secretariat

GEO

dcripe@geosec.org

Contributors

The following GEO Member Countries, Participating Organizations and interested international institutions have expressed intent to participate in the LDN Initiative. Additional expressions of interest are welcome, including Participating Organizations with commercial sector members.

Members: Australia (CSIRO), Germany (DLR, GIZ, University of Bonn, ZFL), Japan, Netherlands (Wageningen University), South Africa, Sweden, USA.
Participating Organizations: CI, ESA, FAO (GOFC-GOLD), UNCCD, UNU (Bonn campus).
Others: International Soil Reference and Information Centre (ISRIC), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development  (OECD).

Linkages Across the GEO Work Programme
Flagships: GEOGLAM; GEOBON; GFOI (Land Cover).
Initiatives: AfrIGEOSS; AOGEOSS; EO4EA; EO4SDGs; GEO Carbon and GHG Initiative; GEO Human Planet Initiative; GEOGLOWS; Oceans and Society: Blue Planet.
Foundational Tasks: GEOSS Common Infrastructure (GCI) Operations (GEOSS Platform).
Communities of Practice: GEO Health CoP.

 

Leadership & Contributors (this list is being populated)

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Co-Chair

Neil Sims

Australia

CSIRO

neil.sims@csiro.au

Co-Chair

Antje Hecheltjen

Germany

GiZ

antje.hecheltjen@giz.de

Co-Chair

Amos Kabo-Bah

Ghana

n/a

amos.kabobah@uenr.edu.gh

Lead (PoC)

Sasha Alexander Juanteguy

UNCCD

n/a

salexander@unccd.int

Lead

Marc Paganini

ESA

ESA

marc.paganini@esa.int

Contributor

Trevor Dhu

Australia

GA

trevor.dhu@ga.gov.au

Contributor

Adam Lewis

Australia

GA

adam.lewis@ga.gov.au

Contributor

Jonathon Ross

Australia

CEOS

jonathon.ross@ga.gov.au

Contributor

Jun Chen

China

NSDI China

chenjun@ngcc.cn

Contributor

Jinhua Zhang

China

n/a

zhang6@un.org

Contributor

Alan Belward

European Commission

EC-JRC

alan.belward@ec.europa.eu

Contributor

Andreas Brink

European Commission

EC-JRC

andreas.brink@ec.europa.eu

Contributor

Michael Cherlet

European Commission

n/a

michael.cherlet@ec.europa.eu

Contributor

Petteri Vihervaara

Finland

n/a

petteri.vihervaara@ymparisto.fi

Contributor

Vincent Pircher

France

n/a

vincent.pircher@developpement-durable.gouv.fr

Contributor

Carsten Dettmann

Germany

n/a

carsten.dettmann@bmvi.bund.de

Contributor

Ursula Gessner

Germany

DLR

ursula.gessner@dlr.de

Contributor

Valerie Graw

Germany

University of Bonn

valerie.graw@uni-bonn.de

Contributor

Uta Heiden

Germany

DLR

uta.heiden@dlr.de

Contributor

Fabian Loew

Germany

n/a

fabian.loew@bbk.bund.de

Contributor

Laetitia Navarro

Germany

iDiv

laetitia.navarro@idiv.de

Contributor

Joachim Post

Germany

DLR

joachim.post@dlr.de

Contributor

Helmut Staudenrausch

Germany

DLR

helmut.staudenrausch@dlr.de

Contributor

Adrian Strauch

Germany

University of Bonn

adrian.strauch@uni-bonn.de

Contributor

Anthony Whitbread

Germany

n/a

a.whitbread@cgiar.org

Contributor

Omar Seidu

Ghana

n/a

omar.seidu@statsghana.gov.gh

Contributor

Palma Blonda

Italy

CNR-IIA

palma.blonda@iia.cnr.it

Contributor

Mariasilvia Giamberini

Italy

CNR

giamberini@igg.cnr.it

Contributor

Osamu Ochiai

Japan

JAXA

ochiai.osamu@jaxa.jp

Contributor

Chu-Ishida Watanabe

Japan

JAXA

ishida.chu@jaxa.jp

Contributor

Bhanooduth Lalljee

Mauritius

n/a

vinodl2018@gmail.com

Contributor

Jose Eduardo De La Torre Barcena

Mexico

NYU

jetb@nyu.edu

Contributor

Claudio Zucca

Morocco

n/a

c.zucca@cgiar.org

Contributor

Jan de Leeuw

Netherlands

ISRIC

jan.deleeuw@wur.nl

Contributor

Ruud Grim

Netherlands

n/a

r.grim@spaceoffice.nl

Contributor

Martin Herold

Netherlands

n/a

martin.herold@wur.nl

Contributor

Rik van den Bosch

Netherlands

ISRIC

rik.vandenbosch@wur.nl

Contributor

Elise van Tilborg

Netherlands

n/a

e.vantilborg@spaceoffice.nl

Contributor

Amadou Dieye

Senegal

n/a

dieye@cse.sn

Contributor

Nosiseko mashiyi

South Africa

SANSA

nmashiyi@sansa.org.za

Contributor

Andiswa Mlisa

South Africa

SANSA

amlisa@sansa.org.za

Contributor

Imraan Saloojee

South Africa

SANSA

isaloojee@sansa.org.za

Contributor

Antonio Araújo

Spain

n/a

antonio.araujo@gmv.com

Contributor

Richard Lucas

United Kingdom

n/a

rml2@aber.ac.uk

Contributor

Satya Kalluri

United States

NOAA

satya.kalluri@noaa.gov

Contributor

Argie Kavvada

United States

NASA

argyro.kavvada@nasa.gov

Contributor

Andrew Kruczkiewicz

United States

IRI

andrewk@iri.columbia.edu

Contributor

Shanna McClain

United States

NASA

shanna.n.mcclain@nasa.gov

Contributor

Gregory Scott

United States

n/a

scott12@un.org

Contributor

Jenna Slotin

United States

n/a

jslotin@data4sdgs.org

Contributor

William Sonntag

United States

n/a

wsonntag@mit.edu

Contributor

Timothy Styker

United States

USGS

tstryker@usgs.gov

Contributor

Issifou Alfari

AGRHYMET

n/a

issifoualfari14@gmail.com

Contributor

Kerry Sawyer

CEOS

NOAA

kerry.sawyer@noaa.gov

Contributor

Timothy Max Wright

CI

n/a

twright@conservation.org

Contributor

Alex Zvoleff

CI

CI

azvoleff@conservation.org

Contributor

Nuno Grosso

EARSC

DEIMOS Imaging

nuno.grosso@deimos.com.pt

Contributor

Mónica Miguel-Lago

EARSC

EARSC

monica.miguel-lago@earsc.org

Contributor

Thomas Hammond

FAO

n/a

thomas.hammond@fao.org

Contributor

John Latham

FAO

n/a

john.latham@fao.org

Contributor

Douglas Muchoney

FAO

n/a

douglas.muchoney@fao.org

Contributor

Patrice Sanou

ISESTEL

n/a

patrice.sanou@sigeta-isestel.com

Contributor

Barron Orr

UNCCD

n/a

bjorr@unccd.int

Contributor

Yvonne Walz

UNU-EHS

n/a

walz@ehs.unu.edu

Contributor

Ivan Hascic

OECD

n/a

ivan.hascic@oecd.org

GEO Sec Rep

Douglas Cripe

GEO Secretariat

GEO

dcripe@geosec.org