GEO logo
GEO logo
white middle piece of banner
GEO circles
Menu

GEO 2017-2019 Work Program

 

Earth Observations in Service of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Activity ID: 112

Overview

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development provides a universal development agenda for all countries and stakeholders to use as a blueprint of action for people, the planet and prosperity. The agenda is anchored by seventeen Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), associated Targets, and a global Indicator Framework. Collectively, these elements enable countries and the global community to measure, manage, and monitor progress on economic, social and environmental sustainability.

Earth observations, geospatial data, and derived information play insightful roles in monitoring targets, planning, tracking progress, and helping nations and stakeholders make informed decisions, plans, and on-going adjustments that will contribute toward achieving the SDGs. Combined with demographic and statistical data, these sources enable nations to analyze and model conditions, create maps and other visualizations, evaluate impacts across sectors and regions, monitor change over time in a consistent and standardized manner, and improve accountability.

The EARTH OBSERVATIONS IN SERVICE OF THE 2030 AGENDA FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT Initiative enables contributions to the 2030 Agenda by GEO and the Earth observations community. The primary purpose of this Initiative is to organize and realize the potential of Earth observations and geospatial information to advance the 2030 Agenda and enable societal benefits through achievement of the SDGs. This Initiative supports efforts to integrate Earth observations and geospatial information into national development and monitoring frameworks for the SDGs.

Activities for the period

The Initiative encompasses activities advancing the provision, access, discoverability, and applicability of Earth observations and geospatial information for use with the SDGs, and assesses data and information needed to be available for the SDGs, while working with GEO data activities, national statistical agencies and others.

The Initiative has three goals: 

Goal I: Demonstrate how Earth observations, geospatial information, and socio-economic and other data contribute in novel and practical ways to support achievement of the SDGs.

  • Achieve acceptance of seven methods by the IAEG by end of 2018;
  • Produce effective methods for five SDGs by end of 2018;
  • Generate one sample methodology per continent by 2017 and uptake of two methodologies within each continent by end of 2019.

Goal II: Increase skills and capabilities in uses of Earth observations for SDG activities and their broader benefits.

  • Engage 25 countries in trainings on rolling three-year average;
  • Conduct trainings on 5 SDG themes by end of 2018;
  • Develop a handbook on SDGs and Earth observations by end of 2017;
  • Roll-out a SDG toolbox for Earth observations data by end of 2018;
  • Produce a primer for GEO community on SDG statistical practices by end of 2017.

Goal III: Broaden interest and awareness of Earth observations’ support to the SDGs and social, environmental, and economic benefits.

  • Produce outreach materials on three SDGs by end of 2017 and seven by end of 2019;
  • Conduct one or more annual events at UN, GEO Plenary and/or work Programme Symposium, conferences, or trade shows;
  • Issue annual awards on uses of Earth observations for SDGs, showcasing the nations and stakeholders and the benefits they achieved;
  • Arrange partnerships with two major institutions at the nexus of science, decision support, and sustainability, to support broader societal ownership of the Goals and Targets and strengthen the effectiveness and accountability of their implementation.

User engagement

The Initiative pursues outreach and engagement to encourage nations and stakeholders to use Earth observations as part of their SDG activities. This business line includes the creation and maintenance of a portfolio of materials that showcases effective methods, available capacity building support, and accessible data and information products to promote the consideration and adoption of Earth observations for the SDGs by nations and stakeholders.

Across all lines of business, the Initiative uses and supports GEO’s efforts to characterize user needs, especially in fostering effective ways to develop methods jointly with users, enable sustained uptake of the methods, and addresses data access. The Initiative pursues partnerships as a key part of its strategy, promoting broad distribution of effective methods, data availability, training, and outreach.

Implementation activities

  • The Initiative maintains four elements as lines of business: Projects, Capacity Building, Data and Information Products, and Outreach and Engagement. These lines collectively address technical, organizational, and programmatic aspects of the Initiative, and there are desirable synergies across lines. The Initiative emphasizes strong collaborations with the statistical community at national and global levels;
  • The Initiative directly supports and pursues projects for method development, distribution, and adoption. The Initiative also provides technical and other guidance for projects developed under other GEO activities, serving a communication role in a federated approach to GEO’s overall service to the SDGs. Capacity building activities provide support to institutions and individuals in the ideation, development, and implementation of methods. Activities draw on, and contribute to, GEO’s established capacity building activities. The portfolio includes virtual and physical activities, such as trainings, webinars, joint projects, applied research, and workshops. Additionally, activities include capacity building within GEO about SDG statistical principles and practices.

Resources

The Initiative operates through in-kind contributions of financial and other resources to conduct the activities. As in-country pilot projects and other activities articulated in each two-year Work Plan mature, the Initiative Board develops a clear statement of the types of resources the Board and Team are prepared to commit to successfully implement the Initiative.

Leadership

Contributors

Members: Canada.

Participating Organizations: CEOS, EARSC, ICSU, IISD, WHO.

Others: CIESIN, Future Earth, GPSDD, SDSN, UN-GGIM.

Linkages across the Work Programme

Flagships: GEO BON; GEOGLAM; GFOI.

Initiatives: AmeriGEOSS; GEO Carbon and GHG Initiative; GEOGLOWS; GEO-GNOME; Global Urban Observation and Information; GEO Human Planet Initiative; GEO-VENER; Oceans and Society: Blue Planet.

Community Activities: EO for Disaster Risk Management; EO for W-E-F Nexus; AirNow International; Land Cover and Land Cover Change

Leadership & Contributors (this list is being populated)

Role

Name

Member/PO

Implementing Entity

Email

Lead (PoC)

Argie Kavvada

United States

NASA

kavvada_argyro@bah.com

Lead

Chu-Ishida Watanabe

Japan

JAXA

ishida.chu@jaxa.jp

Lead

Jose Eduardo De La Torre Barcena

Mexico

NYU

jetb@nyu.edu

Lead

Lawrence Friedl

United States

NASA

lfriedl@nasa.gov

Contributor

Aditya Agrawal

n/a

aagrawal@data4sdgs.org

Contributor

Stephen Passmore

n/a

stephen.passmore@ecosequestrust.org

Contributor

Arnold Dekker

Australia

CSIRO

arnoldgdekker@gmail.com

Contributor

Alex Held

Australia

CSIRO

alex.held@csiro.au

Contributor

Andy Steven

Australia

CSIRO

andy.steven@csiro.au

Contributor

Luciano Parodi

Chile

n/a

lparodi@minrel.gob.cl

Contributor

Xinming Tang

China

n/a

txm@sasmac.cn

Contributor

Mónica Martínez

Ecuador

n/a

mmartinez@mmrree.gob.ec

Contributor

Joerg Freyhof

Germany

n/a

joerg.freyhof@idiv.de

Contributor

Christian Schweitzer

Germany

UBA

christian.schweitzer@uba.de

Contributor

Florian Wetzel

Germany

n/a

florian.wetzel@mfn-berlin.de

Contributor

Mariko Harada

Japan

JAXA

harada.mariko@jaxa.jp

Contributor

Toshio Koike

Japan

University of Tokyo

koike@icharm.org

Contributor

Matsuo Naoko

Japan

JAXA

matsuo.naoko@jaxa.jp

Contributor

Bente Lilja Bye

Norway

n/a

bentelil@hotmail.com

Contributor

Zipho Tyoda

South Africa

DST

zipho.tyoda@dst.gov.za

Contributor

Eleonor Marmefelt

Sweden

SMHI

eleonor.marmefelt@smhi.se

Contributor

Stefan Nilsson

Sweden

SMHI

stefan.nilsson@smhi.se

Contributor

Gregory Giuliani

Switzerland

University of Geneva

gregory.giuliani@unige.ch

Contributor

Derek Gliddon

United Arab Emirates

EAD

derek.gliddon@ead.ae

Contributor

Fred Launay

United Arab Emirates

EAD

flaunay@ead.ae

Contributor

Simon Pearson

United Arab Emirates

EAD

simon.pearson@ead.ae

Contributor

A. Sorichetta

United Kingdom

n/a

a.sorichetta@soton.ac.uk

Contributor

Gary Foley

United States

EPA

foley.gary@epa.gov

Contributor

Angelica Gutierrez-Magness

United States

NOAA

angelica.gutierrez@noaa.gov

Contributor

Richard Lawford

United States

n/a

rlawford@gmail.com

Contributor

John Matuszak

United States

n/a

matuszakjm@state.gov

Contributor

Kenneth McDonald

United States

NOAA

kenneth.mcdonald@noaa.gov

Contributor

Greg Scott

United States

n/a

scott12@un.org

Contributor

Natalya Shulgina

Uzbekistan

n/a

nigmi@albatros.uz

Contributor

Robert Samors

Belmont Forum

n/a

rjsamors.bf.eidm@gmail.com

Contributor

Marie-Josée Bourassa

CEOS

CEOS

marie-josee.bourassa@canada.ca

Contributor

Jonathon Ross

CEOS

CEOS

jonathon.ross@ga.gov.au

Contributor

Mónica Miguel-Lago

EARSC

EARSC

monica.miguel-lago@earsc.org

Contributor

Marc Paganini

ESA

ESA

marc.paganini@esa.int

Contributor

R. Longhorn

GSDI

GSDI

rlonghorn@gsdi.org

Contributor

Gábor Remetey-Fülöp

GSDI

GSDI

gabor.remetey@gmail.com

Contributor

Robert Chen

ICSU

CODATA

bchen@ciesin.columbia.edu

Contributor

Alex De Sherbinin

ICSU

CIESIN

adesherbinin@ciesin.columbia.edu

Contributor

Robert Downs

ICSU

CIESIN

rdowns@ciesin.columbia.edu

Contributor

Lucilla Spini

ICSU

ICSU

lucilla.spini@icsu.org

Contributor

Hans-Peter Plag

IEEE

IEEE

hpplag@mari-odu.org

Contributor

Ian Mccallum

IIASA

n/a

mccallum@iiasa.ac.at

Contributor

Mario Hernandez

ISPRS

n/a

mariohernandezvaldes@gmail.com

Contributor

Samuel Djavidnia

POGO

n/a

samuel.djavidnia@gmail.com

Contributor

Emily Smail

POGO

n/a

emily.smail@noaa.gov

Contributor

Einar Bjorgo

UNITAR

n/a

einar.bjorgo@unitar.org

Contributor

Luc St-Pierre

UNOOSA

n/a

luc.st-pierre@unoosa.org

Contributor

Joerg Szarzynski

UNU-EHS

UN University

szarzynski@ehs.unu.edu

Contributor

Rifat Hossain

WHO

n/a

hossainr@who.int

GEO Sec Rep

William Sonntag

GEO Secretariat

GEO

wsonntag@geosec.org

 

 

Contact Us

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org

phone: +41 22 730 8505

fax: +41 22 730 8520

Address

7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

Follow Us on

GEO Secretariat
7 bis, avenue de la Paix
Case postale 2300
CH-1211 Geneva 2
Switzerland

e-mail: secretariat@geosec.org
phone: +41 22 730 8505
fax: +41 22 730 8520